Log in

Pharmacy Leader Society Announces Inaugural PLS Leader Academy

Wednesday, September 23, 2020 9:00 AM | Katelyn Shatz (Administrator)

Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS), the Pharmacy Leadership Society, is pleased to announce the inaugural PLS Leader Academy Class.  The Society received nearly eighty applications for the original eight Leader Academy slots. Due to the substantial interest, the PLS National Executive Committee has devoted additional resources to expand the program into two cohorts, each with eleven collegiate members. Applicants submitted an application outlining their interest in the Academy and how participation in the program will be shared with their home chapter and school. The twenty-two selected collegiate members are: 


PLS Chapter


Nadia Ahmed

Beta Rho

Howard University

Erin Ballentine

Delta Upsilon

Cedarville University

Celia Boone

Gamma Nu

Western University of Health Sciences

Lauren Busch

Alpha Theta

St. Louis College of Pharmacy

Rachel Chiou

Delta Kappa

University of Michigan

Savannah Elliott


Samford University

Aicha Fokar

Epsilon Beta

University of North Texas 

Michael Forst

Alpha iota

University of Illinois at Chicago

Samantha Garcia

Epsilon Lambda

Keck Graduate Institute

Jessica Hodgen

Beta Zeta

Oregon State University

Lisa Hsi


University of Texas at Austin

Kristen Ingold

Delta Eta

Southern Illinois University of Edwardsville

Kaitlyn Legg

Alpha Eta

West Virginia University

Erica McCoy

Gamma Phi

Northeast Ohio Medical University

Aislinn O'Kane

Alpha Nu

University of Wyoming

Karen Cruz Pelham

Epsilon Zeta

California Health Sciences University

Phoenix Riley

Alpha Zeta

Campbell University

Kyle Schuchter

Alpha Omicron

University of Cincinnati

Rebecca Sehnert

Beta Xi

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Rhea Soltau


University of Houston

Kelly Strama

Alpha Omicron

University of Cincinnati

April Wayne

Beta Nu

Virginia Commonwealth University

This intensive leadership training program includes bi-monthly cohort meetings and individual coaching sessions in order for participants to develop an awareness of self and others to become a leader worth following.  One of the Academies will be facilitated by Anthony DeClue, PharmD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina.  Dr. DeClue also serves as the Parliamentarian for the PLS National Executive Committee.  The other Academy will be led by Brandon Jennings, PharmD, BCACP, Executive Director of PLS.

When asked about this new initiative, Dr. Jennings stated, “We are so excited to begin this program!  Over the last five years, the National Executive Committee has invested much time and resources in growing our leadership development initiatives.  It is so exciting to see all of these initiatives come to fruition.  This extremely talented group of collegiate members are going to have a great time learning more about themselves and improving their leadership skills.  The group will also work to increase leadership development opportunities at their home chapters, furthering the reach of the Society.  We can’t wait to get started!”  Both cohorts will start in October 2020 and will run until May 2021.  National President, Jordan Ballou, PharmD, BCACP added, “The Leader Academy strongly aligns with Phi Lambda Sigma’s mission and current strategic plan to foster leadership development within the profession of pharmacy. Many of our current and former National Executive Committee members have seen the benefits of the Leader Academy firsthand, through their participation during our partnership with Summit Partner Services and CEO Alan Spies,RPh, JD, MBA, PhD, PCC.  It is evident that the future leaders of the profession of pharmacy are eager to take advantage of these opportunities, as well, and we are ready to offer this benefit to our members.”

Phi Lambda Sigma was established in 1965 to develop leadership qualities among pharmacy students and pharmacists and to recognize leaders in the profession.  The elected offices on the National Executive Committee includes President: Jordan Ballou, PharmD, BCACP (University of Mississippi); President-Elect: Michael Mueller, PhD (LECOM – Bradenton Campus); Speaker of the House: Alakai Montalbo, PharmD Candidate (Idaho State University); Members-at-Large: Rashid Abdoh, PharmD Candidate (Texas A&M University) and Kira Voyer, PharmD Candidate (University of Buffalo).  Appointed officers and staff members include Executive Director: Brandon Jennings, PharmD, BCACP (Abilyn Consulting, LLC, Winchester, VA); Associate Executive Director: Mary Euler, PharmD, FAPhA (West Virginia University); Director of Professional Development: Katelyn Shatz, PharmD, MBA, BCPS (James A. Haley Veterans’ Hospital, Tampa, FL); Parliamentarian: Anthony Declue, PharmD (Medical University of South Carolina); and Treasurer: Jaclyn Cole, PharmD, BCPS (University of South Florida).

CONTACT: Katelyn Shatz, PharmD, MBA, BCPS  | Director of Professional Development | katelyn@philambdasigma.org

Phi Lambda Sigma
40 Bailey Lane
Uniontown, PA 15401